Crewe Toll Curry Tasters Restaurant Review : "The Spice Pavilion"

*** Winner of the CCROTY in 2011 & 2012 & 2013 & 2014 & 2015 ***

3A1 Dundas Street, Edinburgh, EH3 6QG, 0131 467 5506 map www

restaurant

You can now submit a review for "The Spice Pavilion" using the online form.

Alternatively if you prefer the power of the pen, then fill out a review sheet and deliver it in person to either of the web masters.

Slightly confused over the overall restaurant ratings? Well here they are explained.

Average from 69 reviews
overall
 4.3
with an average price of £25.95
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.3
mains
 4.4
sides
 4.2
service
 4.4
atmosphere
 4.3
value for money
 4.5

reviewer Tina Greig
review date January 2016
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 3.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £30
comment Prawn puri starter was delicious as always, with just enough heat to leave a slow-burning tingle in your mouth afterwards. Mushroom bhaji was delicious, as always. I had a khari haseena main, which was a milder dish than I would normally order, and it was very mild indeed. It was delicately spiced and tasty, but I\'d have preferred something a bit hotter - probably my own fault for ordering something milder than usual though.

We were here with a party of 29 this time, and although there was a fair wait between the starters and the mains, they did get the starters to us pretty quickly, and I think they coped really well with a party of that size, all things considered.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Sarah Berry
review date January 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.5
service
 2.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms were nice and crispy. There were plenty of accompaniments - more were added to our table on request and they were tasty.

Starter of mushroom puri was very nice. Added the spicy sauce to it to get a bit more spice though.

Main of murg zeera wala was very tasty. Chicken nice and tender and very flavoursome. Would definitely have again.
Sides of Tarka Dahl and Sag Aloo were great. Bit hit with my table.

My only gripe with the night would be the wait for meals. The first table had almost completed their main by the time we received ours. This did mean, more beer was consumed than normal which pushed the price up a bit.

Overall good night and I cannot fault the food.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Patrick Jones
review date January 2016
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £30
comment The poppadoms didn't seem very fresh.
Starter of mixed Kebab was tasty but not hot (temp).
Main of lamb TBD was very good.
Plain Nan & lemon rice were good.
Water jug & glasses brought without being reminded.
Moderate consumption of expensive beer pushed the price up.
However, considering that there were 30 of us they did very well to serve us reasonably quickly.
overall
 3.3

reviewer Lisa Blair
review date January 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 3.0
price £30.00
overall
 3.4

reviewer Lauren Douglas
review date January 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 3.5
price £30.00 (including tip)
comment Great poppadums and dips. Haggis samosa starter was a marked improvement on last year and was delicious. Had Lamb Patia for main which was slightly spicier than expected but still very tasty. Peshwari nan and saag aloo were excellent.

Service was poor however, there were thirty of us so understandably we posed a challenge but I repeatedly had to ask for my main meal which they got wrong, and was waiting to be served after everyone else. I also found that those drinking alcohol were better attended to drinks-wise than those without.

Overall however an enjoyable evening with excellent food.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Katie McColl
review date January 2016
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 2.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment Very good food, lots of options for vegetarians.
I found it quite expensive for what I had but I wasn't drinking so that was probably why.
overall
 3.4

reviewer Jean Houston
review date January 2016
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Great meal. Could not fault the main dish at all. (Kali Mirch Bhona) Chicken was just right, and the dish was spicy, hot, gingery, a true curry. Lemon rice with mustard seed I would also recommend. Attention to detail was given by all the staff. Many other restaurants would not have coped so well with a party of 29.
overall
 4.5

reviewer Fraser Hancock
review date January 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 2.5
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Prawn puri starter, very nice
Chicken Jalfrezi, not bad but a lot of raw tasting spice, made it very spicy and spoiled the flavour slightly

Naan and sides also v.good. It took a while to get served as it was a large party, still didn't leave restaurant until about 10pm.
overall
 4.0

reviewer Erin Gordon
review date January 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 0.5
sides
 2.5
service
 1.0
atmosphere
 3.0
value for money
 1.0
price £30
comment I had prawn puri for a starter, which would have been delicious if the prawns weren't over cooked - very tough and chewy.
Main course, prawn , wasn't flavourful at all and again, prawns were very tough and chewy. Very disappointed.
Service wasn't great. We were split into two tables and the first table got served straight away, taking orders for food and drinks. We eventually got a waiter to come over and someone asked for beers, which he took the order for and walked away, without asking what non-beer drinkers wanted!
Once we finally ordered the food it took them until just before our starters to come out before they took our menus away. By then the first table had long finished their starters. There was a lot of confusion when they were bringing the mains out and someone had to wait an extra ten minutes whilst they went away and made their main because they wrote her order down wrong.
At the end we split the bill evenly, which, I understand it's hard to work out what everyone owes in such a big group, but there were some people who drank 4/5 beers, and others who had one soft drink, therefore I wasn't pleased I had to cough up the same amount as the drinkers, which was also super expensive!
I only rated the atmosphere as high as I did because the people I was with were fun and made the night ok.
Very disappointed with the Spice Pavilion and didn't see how it could win so many awards.
overall
 1.1

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date January 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment I didn't think the poppadums were the freshest but they were crispy enough and the dips were excellent, in particular the great lime pickle and chilli sauce!

Starter of Spicy Chicken. Pretty good, and definitely spicy but nowhere near the Spicy Duck that this restaurant used to excel at!

Main of Nizami Ghost was superb as ever though. A tasty spicy mix of lamb and lamb mince. Also really like the little pieces of ginger you get as a garnish. Excellent lemon rice and naan bread too, incredibly difficult to fault (or better)!

Sides that I had were all extremely good. Nice and garlicky Tarkha Dhal, a Mushroom Bhaji that was really tasty and sag aloo.

Given that there was almost 30 of us the staff did an excellent job in making sure that the wait was kept to a minimum as was possible to do. The service was also very attentive and friendly, as we've come to expect.

The Spice Pavilion is still an excellent restaurant, well done once more!
overall
 4.4

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date January 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.5
price £30 (including tip)
overall
 4.4

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date January 2016
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment The lamb kahrahi was delicious.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Alan Millar
review date January 2016
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms crisp and fresh. Pickles good

Lamb chops to die for

Main dish very good

Mushroom baji excellent

Great to see so many new faces at a curry night.
overall
 4.8

reviewer Sarah Berry
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.5
price £29 (including tip)
comment Pre-Starter: The poppadoms were very crispy and the mango chutney was delicious. The spicey onions were some of the nicest I've had.

Starter: I had the Garlic Mushroom Puri, it was very nice and went really well with the chilli sauce provided. Would have liked a bit more garlic through it though.

Main: I had the Achari Murgh. Was a very nice tomato based curry which was very flavoursome and a medium spice. Would definately have again but maybe ask for it to be a bit hotter. The sides were very nice - I only had a small spoon of each just for a taste. Garlic naan was nice but again I would have liked more garlic.

Service was very attentive all night but a bit slow on bringing over the bill. Would say very good value for money.
overall
 4.3

reviewer Lauren Douglas
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 3.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £26
comment Poppadoms were crispy and the selection of chutneys were great.

Starter of haggis samosa wasn't as expected and I couldn't taste the haggis but was still enjoyable. More like a normal samosa but with crunchier pastry than filo.

Main course of murgh tikka saagwalla was a bit mild but the chicken was perfect and was still very tasty.
overall
 4.3

reviewer Jean Houston
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 3.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment As always poppadoms and dips were very good (esp onion, and the lime pickle)

Haggis Samosa (starter) was quite unusual. It claimed to have \'haggis, neeps & tatties\' in the filling, but I did not taste any turnipat all and not too much haggis, but it was for all that very tasty, nicely spiced and great light, crispy pastry.

For main dish I had Murgh Zeera Wala which I liked because it had a lingering flavour with plenty of ginger.

Disappointed in Bombay Aloo because I have loved it in the past, but this one had a lot of the one spice I don\'t like much, (I think it\'s cardamom)

Compared to previous times there was very little atmosphere, but hopefully that will improve in time. I did feel a little bit like being constantly watched, but I hope that things will be more relaxed when the staff have become accustomed to the changes.
overall
 4.1

reviewer Helen Forrester
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £28 (including tip)
comment Poppadoms crisp and not oily. Lime pickle I could eat and enjoy - not too sour.

Haggis samosa - not the dollop of haggis wrapped in flaky samosa crust I expected. The crust was like a low fat hot water pastry - hard but not hard on the teeth. The filling mostly veg and seeds with a lovely mix of spices. Very nice but not what I expected.

Jingha Tawa - Served on a sissling plate this was really tasty. Sauce was tomato based and not too spicy. Tarka daal was not too sloppy but I thought it could have done with more garlic. Lemon rice made a refreshing change. Naans were good but I'd have liked more garlic.

In my mind waiters were over attentive and too eager. I put it down to a lack of other customers and being anxious to impress us! Slightly quick off the mark with the hot towels but they did open the packets saving us the fight. Slow with the bill.
overall
 3.8

reviewer Grant McQuillan
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.0
price £25.8
comment This was my first outing with the Crewe Toll Curry Club and what could be a better way to start than with restaurant of the year 2014.

After seeing haggis samosas on the menu I was already blown away but decided to reserve judgement until I tasted the food. It did not disappoint. The quality and flavour of the food was outstanding (Haggis samosas amazing) and it was really easy to see why it was voted restaurant of the year 4 times in a row.

Well done to The Spice Paviliion!
overall
 4.5

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £28 (including tip)
comment As The Spice Pavilion is under new management this was a chance to see how it measured up to the restaurant that won the CTCTROY award 4 years in a row.

Excellent fresh, crispy poppodums with a nice lime pickle, spiced onions and chutney.
Decided to go for a couple of my old favourites for Starter and main course.
I had a starter of spicy chicken (note that they don't seem to do the duck version anymore). I have to say it was as superb as ever - loved it!

Main of Nizami Gosht also still as good as ever.

I thought the sides of tarkha dahl, sag aloo and bombay aloo were also top quality.

Service wasn't quite up to the usual standard though. Still personable but a few mistakes were made probably due to their over eagerness to impress. That said I thought that the food was what we've come to expect of The Spice Pavilion. I would say it's in very safe hands indeed.

overall
 4.5

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £28 (including tip)
overall
 4.5

reviewer Corey Clarke
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 4.0
price £25
overall
 4.5

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £26
comment Slaman has a hard act to follow since Cristina and Imran Khan no longer run the Spice Pavilion.
But on the evidence of last night, he's well on the way to success.

Poppadoms were as crisp as ever, with an ample supply of chutney including my Lime Pickle favourite.
I had the Lamb Chop starter, which is simply great. done in a tandoori marinade with onions and peppers, served up sizzling on a hot dish - Yummy.
Main course of Chicken JalFrezie, could have been a little hotter, but I didn't specifically ask, so partly my fault. Still a very tasty dish and they're still using the ginger and garlic garnish we loved last year.
Side dishes were excellent, but some disappointed as there was no okra.
Overall a very Good experience. If Salman keeps the quality as good as this then I would still recommend this restaurant to anyone.
Now, I must book my next visit....
overall
 4.5

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date January 2015
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 2.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 2.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.0
price £26
comment I was looking forward to the haggis samosa, but was disappointed by the tough pastry and could not taste the haggis, there was more potato than haggis, I was expecting a filo pastry.

The main course was chicken kolhapuri, I did not know it was the hottest item on the menu until it was explained while ordering, the waiter very kindly allowed me to have it at jalfrezi heat, it was delicious.

At the end of the meal it was rather disappointing to be offered the hot towels while two people were still eating.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date November 2014
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £35 (including tip)
comment As some of you will already know, Cristina and Imran are relinquishing control of The Spice Pavilion.
The main reasons are Imran's health, which has deteriorated over the past couple of years.
So this visit was intended to determine what we can expect from now.
Control of the Spice Pavilion is now in the hands of Salman, who was Cristinas head waiter.
The Menu is unchanged and Imran is still cooking for two or three nights a week. During this time he has been passing his recipes and style on to the new chef.

The menu is unchanged, so all of your favaourite dishes are still available.
Service is as good as ever and as before there are no long waits beteen courses.

Popadums last night were crispy and the chutneys were everything we expect.
As a starter I had a Garlic Mushroom Puri. Garlic plus Mushrooms - not a lot more to say but delicious. Maybe slightly mmore Garlic, but I just love garlic.
I tried the Murgh Hyderabadi, which contains a mix of minced chicken and chunks of Lamb. The dish was spicy and full of flavour. The meat was cooked to perfection.
I had a side dish of Saag Aloo which was lovely and Mary had Garlic Mushrooms, which to my mind could have had more Garlic.
All these dishes bore witness to the style Imran s developed for his meals, with chopped Ginger and Garlic sprinkled on the top.
Mary had no problems with her "No coriander" orders.
The new waiter with salman was attentive without being overbearing and the general ambiance is unchanged.
Perhaps the music could have been better, but I barely noticed once I started eating.
I finished off with the Home Made Kulfi (Indian Pistachio Ice-Cream) which was also delicious.
The overall price was a little higher because we drank a bottle of wine between two of us.
Overall a very good meal. It seems that standards remain high at the Spice Pavilion.
overall
 4.5

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Starter: Spicy Duck
Main: Nizami Gosht
Sides: Zeera Aloo, Mushroom Bhaji

As always a service was swift and a pleasure.
The food was all great, just that bit better than other restaurants. Care has been taken to balance the flavours in the sides as much as with the main dishes.

The spicy duck was slightly let down by being spicy enough that it drowned out the flavour of the duck.
Still nice.
overall
 4.7

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Been a while since I submited a review for here, so here goes.

Pops fresh and crispy, with the usual dips.
Garlic Mushroom Puri for starter was full of mushrooms and very garlicky - what more could you want. So flavourful.

My main was a special dish that Imran makes for me: Aloo Gobi Khari Haseena, extra spicy, no coriander :-)
It is incredibly tasty and full of onion, green pepper, potato and cauliflower in an amazing sauce. My favourite dish of any restaurant I've ever been to!

I only had the Mushroom Bhaji and Tarka Dahl sides, both of which I really enjoyed - although the dahl seemed a bit less garlicky than usual.

It was quite busy and we had 2 large tables so the atmosphere was really good and the service was impeccable as usual.

Cristina and her staff are still doing a great job!

Will probably go back again sometime... ;-)
overall
 4.9

reviewer Keith Horsey
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £20 (including tip)
overall
 4.6

reviewer Jean Houston
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Very glad I was at last able to pay a 2nd visit to the CROTY having been away the previous two Januarys. Had read all the earlier revues, which meant I was going with high expectations. This can often result in a disappointment, but not so with The Spice Pavilion.
What I liked about the pre's, as well as the taste, was the consistency of the dips - there were no drips.
The Spicy Duck(starter)and Nizami Lamb(main) were both excellent. My one problem was that in order to finish the main dish I did not try any of the much recommended sides. Oh and the lemon rice (with mustard seed) was also specially good.
Service very good, with all the bonus points - hot towel and chocolate.
This evening passed my acid test - when I woke up next morning I was counting days till next Curry Night.
(Note to self: next time sit at the other table. Better vfm)
overall
 4.8

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 4.5
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pops very crispy. Onions had a nice little bit of spice about them. Lime pickle wasn't too sour, so I rather liked it.

Spicy duck was amazing! Very nice spice and moist duck (no skin on it though).

Can't recall the main that I had, but I asked for a "very spicy lamb dish" (extra spicy of course). What I got really did meet expectations, although a little hotter would have been nice. Lamb was lovely and tender with a sauce full of "stuff" (and not just meat and gravy) with shredded ginger as a garnish on top. A nice change to get something hot enough to make my nose run when I ask for it :-)

Mushroom bahji was lovely. Tarka dahl a bit average - could have done with more garlic I think. Saag aloo was nice enough.

Service was fast, efficient and very friendly - I even managed to catch the 21:30 train!

Great atmosphere - although that may have been assisted by the 4pm start in the pub ;-)

Great value - although the price includes a wee discount (I think because Mary just about lives in the place).
overall
 4.6

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £20.00 (including tip)
comment A great round of crisp fresh poppadums with the usual cracking selection of pickles and chutneys, all of which were top notch!

Starter of spicy duck was as good as I remembered. A fantastic hot, spicy and tasty dish!

Main of sambaal murgh I've had a few times before and enjoyed very much. It is normally very hot and spicy with a hint of sourness (due to the vinegar) but on this occasion I felt - for me at least - it was just a bit too hot. It was still really good though with a good depth of flavour amongst the heat.

The sides of tarka dahl, sag aloo and chana mushroom were of a very good standard. I especially loved the chickpeas in the chana mushroom which were just about the tastiest and spiciest chickpeas ever!

Also top marks to our waiter who was very personable and extremely efficient.

An excellent evening was finished off a complimentary Kulfi pud and a bill that came to just £20/head with a tip - outstanding!

Another tremendous evening, but then we've come to expect that from this excellent restaurant! Worthy champion of champions!
overall
 4.8

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 3.5
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crisp, dips good, lime pickle nice (and I don't like lime pickle).

Chicken pakora was very good but didn't quite make it too excellent.

Chicken katmando was much hotter than last time and not so enjoyable.

Sides were good.

Service was as good as always.

Price was unbelievable even before the 15% discount. It would have got a 5 discount or not.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Yet another great evening at the Spice Pavilion.
A meal worthy of their Champion of Champions status.

Popadums nice a crisp with the usual selection of chutneys. really nice Lime pickle.
Lamb Chop starter is excellent, just had to use my fingers to get at all the meat.
Chicken Jalfrezie main really tasty with just the right amount of heat.
Saag Aloo side was excellent and the tarka Dhall side must have been good as I only realised later it had never reached my end of the table.
Mushroom side also good.

Christina and her staf were, as usual, most attentive andfriendly to eceryone in the restaurant. Not just our party.

It won't be long before I'll be going back for another meal.
overall
 4.9

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date January 2014
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £20
comment My main was a lot milder than normal, which was a little surprising since I've had it dozens of times before - my fault for asking for it "medium" I suppose. Otherwise excellent in all ways as usual. A deserved winner of the Curry Restaurant of the Year.
overall
 4.6

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £20
overall
 3.6

reviewer Alan Millar
review date January 2014
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment Excellent Lamb chops
overall
 4.8

reviewer Stephen Hunt
review date January 2013
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Pre - Pops's fresh and crisp, all dips tasted great, hard to fault.

Start - Prawn puri, portion has got bigger since last visit and taste is still good but really needed the sauces, which were also great.

Main - Murgh Tikka Saagwalla, still the best main course curry I've had, Gav wouldve been jealous with the amount of meat received.

Sides - Dahl so garlicky and chunky, worth the 5 just for that.

Ser/Atmo/VfM - Being very picky but had to remind them about my missing main course, apart from that everything was perfect and it was slightly busier than last time which improved the atmosphere. Great night out in Spice Pavillion again.
overall
 4.9

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date January 2013
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £29 (including tip)
comment Popadoms: Crispy and served with plenty of pickles.

Starter: Haggis Samosa. Interesting and nice, but not outstanding.

Main: Lamb Kali Mirch Bhona. Spicy, with lots of black pepper. Nice balanced mix of sauce, meat and veg.
Sides: Cumin potatoes. Realy good.
Mushroom Bhaji. Some of the best I've had.
Garlic Nan. Nicly garlicy and not dry. Pre-cut to a good size.
Service: Faultless and fast without feeling pushy.
Atmosphere: Friendly with a good layout and uncramped feeling.

Value for Money: Great food at less than average prices.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date January 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £26
comment Poppodums were tremendous. Fresh and crispy with a great selection of pickles.

Starter of spicy duck. Couldn't fault this dish at all. It was very well cooked and yes, nicely spiced!

Main of sambaal murgh. Hot but with a lot of taste, superb! Also loved the strips of fresh ginger garnish!

Very good sides with a stand-out Tarkha dahl I thought, that was thick with lots of of garlic.

Once again we had an outstanding dinner at the Spice Pavilion with their usual excellent service and hospitality.

It is always a real pleasure to dine here!
overall
 4.9

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date January 2013
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Poppadums fresh and crisp. Lime Pickle good.
Garlic Mushroom puri starter - Mmmm garlic.
Chicken Jalfrezie Main Course - Spicy and full of flavour.
Side dishes, Tarka Dhall - Best Ever, Bombay potato - superb.
As ever, Imran created superb food and Christina (and her staff) made everything else happen smoothly.
All the more impressive as the restaurant was packed.
Always a pleasure to eat at this restaurant.
They were worthy winners of our Restaurant of the Year Award for the second year running.
overall
 4.9

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date January 2013
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 3.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 3.0
price £25 (including tip)
overall
 3.9

reviewer Alan Millar
review date January 2013
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £26 (including tip)
comment Lamb Chops were an excellent starter and almost a meal themselves. Mushroom Baji was also a highlight but the food in general was all great.
overall
 4.9

reviewer Helen Forrester
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £20.50
comment Lime pickle that wasn't so sour I couldn't eat it!
Haggis Somoza - really tasty, with crispy 'crust'. Great dips. The chutney like one was fruity and sweet but not too sweet.
Chicken dansak - Tasty fruity but again not oversweet.
Mushroom Bhajee was great.
Service good. Waiters attentive and topped up my water regularly - some restaurants aren't as courteous and make me feel like a cheap skate for not taking alcohol.
As I have complained of cold restaurants, I must say this one wasn't. Helped by the dining area being screened from draughts from the outer door.
Impressed by efficient service with so many in the group. Waiters were patient with those who forgot what they had ordered or weren't paying attention.
overall
 4.2

reviewer Tina Greig
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £20.50
comment Jingha pakora starter was excellent, with a very nice selection of sauces to go with the starters - the tamarind one was particularly good.

Murgh tikka saagwala main was good, but there are probably more interesting selections to make from the menu. The sides get a 5 for the mushroom bhaji alone - this was jaw-droppingly good, so we felt the need to order a second portion.

I think this place is pretty good value for money at any time, but given we got 25% off on this visit, it was extremely good value.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Stephen Hunt
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.5
price £20.50
comment Not much to add to previous years review, really tasty food served efficiently with a smile.

Got some dahl this time around and lovely and garlicy.

Overall dealt well with a big group and the food was hard to fault. (could have done with slightly bigger portions, but i usually feel that way!)

overall
 4.5

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £22.50 (including tip)
comment Popadoms crispy, Good Quality and quantity of dip. Nothing extra special, just good at what it is.

Chicken Tikka, succulent and well spiced. Good portion size for a started, not too big. nice sauces, especially the tamarind.

Murgh Pudina Wala- Lamb with Poppy seed, Mint, Spices. Medium/Mild.
Really rich and well rounded taste. Milder than suggested on the Menu, but still with a enough bite.

Sides.
Chili & corriander Nan added the needed heat to my Milder than expected Main.
The Mushroom Bahji was not very spiced, but Very Garlicy and increadibly nice.

Atmosphere, service and price would be unrealistic to expect more from anywhere.
overall
 4.6

reviewer Patrick Jones
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 2.5
sides
 2.5
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 3.5
value for money
 5.0
price £23
comment Starter of Chicken Tikka was good.
Main of Lamb Pasanda was a bit too mild & there wasn't much meat in the sauce.
Nans & rice were fine.
Service was good.
25% discount hepled bring the price down.
overall
 3.6

reviewer Jim Bryce
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 3.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 3.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £23 (including tip)
comment Pre-starters crispy and tasty
Starter - Chicken Tikka - A bit bland to taste and a small portion.
Main - Z.Ghost Rice & G.Nan.
V. Good.

service - cleaned table with cloth when we were seated.
A bit of a no no....... otherwise good.

Atmosphere - good decore and comfortable dinning space.

Bargain 25% off
overall
 3.8

reviewer James McCamphill
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £22.50 (including tip)
comment Pops: Fresh and crispy chuntys were nothing amazing and althought the Lime Pickle had the 'face factor' is was lacking in that kick of heat at the end of the facial whincing.

Starter: As last time the spicy duck was delicious, not chewy and the sauces with the starters were all excellent esp the brown (tamarind) one.

Main: Lamb Jalfrezie was again very good but lacked something this time, still great flavour and heat with the sauce. however some bits of meat were not great and a bit of a let down.

Sides: Loving the Dall Sambar it adds a great extra flaovur to your dish and the sag aloo was great (as always) as were the naans.

Serivce: No complaints whatsoever service was quick, efficient, friendly, unobtrusive, and without fault.

VFM: with 25% off what is not to like about having one of the best meals for a long time and only paying £22.

This place is great and I should always be better that a great deal of other places we vist this year.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 4.5
price £20.50
comment Popadoms were nice and crispy. Chutney very nice, onions average, lime pickle not too sour (which is good for me).

Haggis samosa was very nice - being Bruns' day, I really had to have it! The side sauces brought it up a treat and left a nice tingle afterwards. Haggis tasted like it was freshly caught :-)

Murgh tikka saagwala was very tasty, although Stephen got at least 2 extra bits of meat than I did, so definitely had room for a bit more by the end. Very flavoursome though.

Dal Tarka side was nice, although I didn't taste as much garlic as Brian said there was. The sweet dal dish was tast too and was the saag aloo.

There were 19 of us, split between 2 tables which worked very well indeed. All food served promptly and hot with no mistakes.

A lot of smiling faces by the end of the meal, helped by the 25% discount they are currently doing on Wednesday nights.

Will definitely be back and might even give them a shot for a lunch menu!
overall
 4.2

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 5.0
price £25 (including tip)
comment Poppodum was lovely fresh and crispy and I thought that the pickle selection was excellent. The lime pickle in particular was fab!

Starter of haggis samosa (well it had to be done as it was Burns night) was tremendous. Supremely tasty haggis and I enjoyed it very much!

Main of Nizami Gosht, which is what I had last year. I thought it was a fantastic dish then and I still think that a year on. Top notch! I also enjoyed the lemon rice and chilli naan.

I tried a variety of Dahl sides (Tarka, Sambar & Sagwala(?)- with spinach! ) all pretty good I thought!

Finally I have to say that I was well impressed with how they dealt with our large party of 19. Service was excellent, friendly and prompt.

A fine evening was then rounded off with a well deserved presentation for the CTCTROY for 2011. On this evidence it will once again be the one to beat this year too!
overall
 4.7

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 5.0
starters
 2.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.0
value for money
 4.5
price £20.50
overall
 4.1

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment Pre-starter dips were better than last time but still no better than run of the mill. Chutney was good but the minty yoghurt was thin and bland and the onions could be more spicy.
Prawn pakora was superb but the side salad was 90% cucumber - 1/2 mark off!

Kathmandu chicken was 5 out 5.

Sides were the best. Mushroom bhadji was divine. Dal sagwala was different and great.

Absolutely wonderful!

I suspect my score is even higher than last time!


overall
 4.7

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment As it was Burns Night, I decided to blend cultures and go for the Haggis Samosas for the starter. Really tasty with the provided sauces and the haggis had some bite.
Main course was Lamb Jalfrezie. The chef knows how to prepare his meat. The Lamb was really tender. A couple more chillis would have made this dish perfect.
Traka Dhall side dish was excellent, plenty of garlic in there. The Saag Aloo was also excellent.
The Service was second to none. I don't know of another restaurant that deals with large parties as well as this one does.
The January 25% off the food offer made this excellent value for money. But I'll be back as it's worth the full price anyway.
overall
 4.7

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date January 2012
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 5.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment Flawless service for such a large party mid-week (19 people).

Excellent value for money due to the 25% off deal.

A very well deserved winner of the 2011 CTCT Restaurant of the Year.
overall
 4.8

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
value for money
 4.0
price £20 (including tip)
comment A blending of cultures for the starter of haggis samosa, fantastic. The was the start of a lovely meal. Will certainly be back.
overall
 4.3

reviewer Alan Millar
review date January 2012
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
value for money
 5.0
price £23 (including tip)
comment Starters and main are as good as I have had anywhere. The Mushroom Baji side was fantastic
overall
 4.7

reviewer Stephen Hunt
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Definately my best outing since joining CTCT!

pre: pickle good but left wanting more. popadom a bit stale but this seemed to be restricted to our plate and others found them very crispy

starter (prawn puri): very nice light grease free bread but not quite enough prawns for my liking and would have lacked a bit of flavour had it not been for sauces put out (chilli one was especially nice)

Main (Murgh Tikka Saagwala): best main I've had for a long time, lots of spinach, lots of chicken, lots of flavour and well cooked. What more can you ask for.

Sides: Saag Aloo was great as was mushrooms, not so sure about Dall Sambar but nice to try something different. Left without Tarka Dal but seemed to get a good vote from those that got some!

Service & Atmos: Very prompt, friendly and polite with what was a large group (although rest of place wasnt busy). Only gripe was not clearing between pre and starter but thats more of a pet hate for me. Place felt very bright despite being in a basement location.
overall
 4.4

reviewer Phil Hunt
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 5.0
price £27 (including tip)
comment
Starter: Garlic Mushroom Puri
Main : Kali Mirch Bhona Lamb
Sides : Garlic Nan, Sag Aloo, Mushroom Bhajee
overall
 4.6

reviewer Patrick Jones
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 3.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Starter of spicy duck was very good and just spicy enough.
Main of Arachi chicken something was also quite spicy but very tasty.
Excellent Nan bread.
Rice portions were on the small side.
Water glass topped up without being prompted.
Great service considering our group size (although they were not full).
overall
 4.2

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £25
comment Another very enjoyable visit to this excellent restaurant, this time with a much larger party than previously.
Poppadoms at our end of the table were crispy and tasty. I had the onion bhaji to start with which was just a nice amount of food and went down very well. For main course I had Khari Haseena with chicken. This is a very nicely spiced dish with onions and green pepper. Extremely tasty. I had it with mushroom rice and tarka dahl. The tarka dahl is very tasty but could be a bit thicker for my taste.
The service was impeccable. My order was taken separately to ensure the non-corianderness of my food - perfect! Everything was prompt and correct.
The card, banner, balloons and especially the kulfi for Brian's birthday were a really lovely surprise :-)
overall
 4.9

reviewer James McCamphill
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment Pops: Seemed a bit flexiable and stale, pickles were ok but nothing worth mentioning.

Starter: SPICY Duck was very good indeed, great to see duck on the menu sop I had to have it. Meat was very tender and perfectly spiced with the heat building up to give my mouth a good tingle. My salad was ALL cucumber and so i could not touch any of it hence -1/2 and I did want more(like Daves dish)

Main: Lamb Jalfrezi: There were actually many things that I wanted but was glad I choose this dish. The meat was lovely, the sauce was great, the onions still had a wee crunch and the spice/heat was also perfect. If I could cook a curry this is what I would want to make every time. v very GREAT!!

The sides also very good (esp Sag Aloo) but Tarka Dahl a bit thin/watery for me, Naans all good too and the unusual dall samber was a pleasent addition.

The service was very efficeint, friendly, fast and accommidating (Mary). No mistakes and they
(unlike many others) can remember who ordered what without standing there shouting the dishes out (I hate that)

This place is very fresh, bright, clean, modern, confortable and a nice place to be.

In short we may go the best part of the year to find somewhere better and a very good contender for ROTY!
overall
 4.5

reviewer Gavin Cameron
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 3.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.5
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £25
comment Pops a bit stale - been out for a while I think. Chutney selection nice, even the lime pickle was palatable.

Spicy Duck starter was excellent - lean and tender with a hint of spice that built up over time. Only down side was that I wanted more!

Kali Mirch Bhona lamb excellent. Nice peppery spice to it. Lamb lovely and tender.

Sides excellent too - best for a while: Mushroom bhaji was lush, saag aloo was gorgeous, dall samber was interestingly different, but tarka dal lacking a bit in garlic.

Service very efficient, especially considering that there were 13 of us. All done by 9pm, no cold food and no wrong orders. Was going to mark the service down as it took ages for the bill, but then we discovered why... birthday kulfi (with candle) for Brian.
overall
 4.6

reviewer Derek Stronach
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £30 (including tip)
comment To begin with the poppodum I had was nice enough. Loved the lime pickle but didn't rate the other chutneys too highly!

Starter of spicy duck - delicious! Really tasty and of course spicy with a nice heat to it. Great side salad too.

Main of nimzla gosht - superb! Again a great combination of heat and spice with well cooked lamb! Also really enjoyed the lemon as well as the usual pilau rice, and chilli naan!

The sides of tarkha dahl, bhindi bhaji and sag aloo were all excellent. Couldn't fault any of them!

The service was impeccable. We were all finished by 9pm, no mean feat considering how many restaurants struggle to serve a large party such as ours! As others have commented there was no wrong or missing orders or cold food! Very well done!

I thought this was a class restaurant and I for one will certainly be back!
overall
 4.8

reviewer Dave Fraser
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 4.5
starters
 4.5
mains
 4.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £27 (including tip)
overall
 4.5

reviewer Brian Wilson
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 2.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.5
atmosphere
 4.5
price £27 (including tip)
comment
Sides that came with the popadoms where a bit bland however...

The starter (King Prawn pakora) was so good that I considered givnge it 5 but where do you go from there so I gave it 4.5.

Then the main came (Kathmandu Murgh - chicken in a garlic lentil sauce) and it knocked my socks off - a 5!

The bhindi badji side was good and I thought the staff were very good.

This has set a very high standard for the rest of the year.
overall
 4.3

reviewer Brian Tilley
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 4.5
mains
 5.0
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 4.5
price £27.50 (including tip)
comment Popadums at our end of the table were OK. Liked the selection of pickles.
Starter - Maachli puri (Salmon and Chick Pea Puri). i don't often go for a fish starter, but this sounded interesting. Lovely flavours with a pleasant spicy kick. Not so big that I couldn't eat my Main.
Main - Lamb Jalfrezie. The meat in this dish was cooked to perfection. An excellent Jalfrezie with just the right level of heat, very tasty dish.
Sides - tried Tarka Dhall, Dhall Samber and Saag Aloo. All were well presented and very tasty additions to the meal.
Service was excellent, it's not often that a restaurant copes so well with a large party. Congratulations to Spice Pavillion for a very pleasant experience.
overall
 4.8

reviewer Brian Donaghy
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 4.5
sides
 5.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 5.0
price £27.50 (including tip)
comment End to end an excellent meal.

Mary had mentioned in passing 6 months ago that it was my birthday on the 23rd - not only did they remember this they also arranged balloons, a "Happy Birthday" banner, a card and free desert for everyone (mine had a candle).

I had decided on a previous trip that this is currently my favourite Indian restaurant in town, but the service today was second to none.

The food as ever was excellent, the sheek kabab being perfectly prepared with a side salad and main was very tasty with a good heat.
overall
 4.8

reviewer Barry Nelson
review date February 2011
pre-starters
 4.0
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 4.0
atmosphere
 4.0
price £27
comment Starter - Lamb chops, marinated in herbs and spices. Absolutely lovely.
Main - Murg chana wala, chicken, chickpeas, medium gravy, ginger and coriander.
Very impressed, I will certainly be back. Nice and handy for me as the bus stop is right at the door.
overall
 4.5

reviewer Mary Gibson
review date August 2010
starters
 5.0
mains
 5.0
sides
 4.0
service
 5.0
atmosphere
 3.5
price £30 (including tip)
comment This was actually my second visit to this restaurant, however the first time I was rather inebriated and have very little memory of anything, although I am told I enjoyed the meal!

So, a re-visit was called for. We started by sharing the Tandoori Mix platter. This comprised chicken, lamb and sheek kebab. The meat was some of the most tender and flavourful I have ever had and was all served on a bed of onions on a sizzling platter with 3 types of sauce. Fab!

For main course, I had the north Indian Chilli Garlic Chicken. This again was a wonderful mix of tender chicken, spicy sauce and lots and lots of garlic (it even came with fresh crushed garlic sprinkled on the top). The spice level was nice too. We also had a side of Tarka Dahl (of course!) which was a little runnier than I like but still a nice flavour.

The cost was a little high, but that's 'cos we had a bottle of wine with the meal.

The service was impeccable, but that may have been due to the fact that there was only one other table of 2 occupied (it was quite early on a Monday evening) - consequently, the atmosphere wasn't particularly "jumping"!

Definitely one I'll be back to - highly recommended.
overall
 4.7

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! [Valid Atom 1.0] [Valid RSS 2.0]
[ Page last updated Fri 16th May 2014 | viewed 69859 times ]